Arch Linux

Please read this before reporting a bug:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Bug_reporting_guidelines

Do NOT report bugs when a package is just outdated, or it is in the AUR. Use the 'flag out of date' link on the package page, or the Mailing List.

REPEAT: Do NOT report bugs for outdated packages!
Tasklist

FS#48757 - [gdm] gdm user and group not removed on package uninstallation

Attached to Project: Arch Linux
Opened by Charles Bos (Chazza) - Wednesday, 30 March 2016, 15:42 GMT
Last edited by Doug Newgard (Scimmia) - Wednesday, 30 March 2016, 15:54 GMT
Task Type General Gripe
Category Packages: Extra
Status Closed
Assigned To No-one
Architecture All
Severity Low
Priority Normal
Reported Version
Due in Version Undecided
Due Date Undecided
Percent Complete 100%
Votes 0
Private No

Details

Description:

When the gdm package is installed, a gdm user and group are created, as per post_install [1]. The user and group are not removed when the package is uninstalled. Is this the desired behaviour? I ask because we recently had [2] added to the GDM wiki page.

The polipo package takes the approach of removing the user and group in post_remove [3]. Perhaps that is the approach that should be taken for gdm as well?

[1] https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/tree/trunk/gdm.install?h=packages/gdm
[2] https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php?title=GDM&type=revision&diff=428137&oldid=426815
[3] https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/community.git/tree/trunk/polipo.install?h=packages/polipo
This task depends upon

Closed by  Doug Newgard (Scimmia)
Wednesday, 30 March 2016, 15:54 GMT
Reason for closing:  Not a bug
Additional comments about closing:  This is intentional.
https://www.archlinux.org/todo/usergroup -management/

Loading...